Could not see my Wireless network

Wired & Wireless network products and technologies

Could not see my Wireless network

New postby Ramirez » 03 Apr 2011 12:47

I'm having a problem with my Dlink wireless N router (DIR615).
My laptop, along with several of my housemate's laptop could not detect the wireless network from our router. The problem only happens with laptops using wireless 802.11b/g radio signals. My laptop can see other networks in range, but not mine. However, laptops using 802.11n wireless are able to use get internet access without problem.

I've also tried connecting through an ethernet cable to set the Wireless signal from (n/g/b) to (g/b) signal and then back to the default (n/g/b). Previously, it worked for me, and also when I reboot the router; but now, stubbornly it doesn't want to work even if I switched the signals. Then I came to the conclusion that the router could not emit g/b signals...

Funny though, recently I bought a USB Dlink rangebooster (DWA-140) for testing... It can receive the (g) signal from my router! Whereas the other laptops couldn't. So, can anyone help me out here? Whats the problem with my router?
Image
User avatar
Ramirez
Master Chip'rs
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 11 Sep 2007 15:54
Location: Ayer Itam, Penang

Re: Could not see my Wireless network

New postby Zeroes » 03 Apr 2011 20:42

Try to login to router, using wired connection, and reset all wireless clients.
I'm starting with the man in the mirror,
I'm asking him to change his ways,
And no message could have been any clearer,
If you wanna make the world a better place,
Take a look at yourself, and make a change
User avatar
Zeroes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 15 Mar 2007 09:31

Re: Could not see my Wireless network

New postby Ramirez » 04 Apr 2011 15:00

Ok...reset wireless clients...does it affect the settings done by TMNet?
Image
User avatar
Ramirez
Master Chip'rs
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 11 Sep 2007 15:54
Location: Ayer Itam, Penang

Re: Could not see my Wireless network

New postby Zeroes » 04 Apr 2011 17:02

You should see the screen like below (with list of all PCs and notebook connected to it):

dir615.png


It would not reset any TMnet's configuration.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I'm starting with the man in the mirror,
I'm asking him to change his ways,
And no message could have been any clearer,
If you wanna make the world a better place,
Take a look at yourself, and make a change
User avatar
Zeroes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 15 Mar 2007 09:31

Re: Could not see my Wireless network

New postby Ramirez » 04 Apr 2011 17:45

ooo... I've seen this page, but don't really know what it does :scratch: , so where do I click the reset button? the "Reboot" on the left panel? Thanks for the info Zeroes!
Image
User avatar
Ramirez
Master Chip'rs
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 11 Sep 2007 15:54
Location: Ayer Itam, Penang

Re: Could not see my Wireless network

New postby Ramirez » 12 Apr 2011 19:13

Problem Solved!
Here's how: go to your router page -> Wireless Setup -> Manual Wireless Connection Setup -> Wireless Network Global Settings -> disable Auto Channel Selection -> Set Wireless Channel to 11 -> Save Settings and you're done!
Image
User avatar
Ramirez
Master Chip'rs
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 11 Sep 2007 15:54
Location: Ayer Itam, Penang

Re: Could not see my Wireless network

New postby Zeroes » 18 Apr 2011 16:22

Yeayyy... :cheers:

Now my routers is giving trouble! Can't even access the control panel grrrrr :evil: Good thing - tomorrow the technician coming to home to fix. At least its 1300 contact centre works.
I'm starting with the man in the mirror,
I'm asking him to change his ways,
And no message could have been any clearer,
If you wanna make the world a better place,
Take a look at yourself, and make a change
User avatar
Zeroes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 15 Mar 2007 09:31

Re: Could not see my Wireless network

New postby Ramirez » 24 Apr 2011 10:26

Bugger! :lol:

I had to call an entire afternoon to get to an available technician...but it's worth it. You sure you can't access your router control panel? Haha...
Image
User avatar
Ramirez
Master Chip'rs
 
Posts: 633
Joined: 11 Sep 2007 15:54
Location: Ayer Itam, Penang


Return to Networking & Communications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron